top of page

The Attendee's Pink Out Heartbreak

What a Wednesday it was set to be, for the first time all Fall semester the amount of homework I had was at an all-time low and the URI would be taking on Davidson for the right to 1st place in the A-10 standings in URI basketball's annual pink-out game. This very Wednesday was the definition of "LIT" before anyone ever said the word. I already convinced a bunch of people I barely knew to attend the game and support URI basketball in their first year at the university. As I walked into the Ryan Center, I could feel the surrounding excitement as soon as I grabbed a seat in the 200's with my friends and I witnessed something rarely ever seen at this campus, a student body in unison and all happy. Surely URI wouldn't let their fellow students down.

Too bad URI couldn't score to save their lives and an episode of "Rhode Work" was later published to YouTube highlighting the pink out game, which showed an elderly woman in pink rooting for URI, close to tears. Jack Gibbs won Davidson the game 60-59, with roughly 2 seconds left on a stepback 3 and I didn't attend URI's last home game (senior night) of the 2014-2015 season, as a result. For the Rhode Islanders who questions URI's lack of a fan base in any sport they partake in, don't.

About a URI Attendee

Hi, I attend URI basketball games religiously. I am also a pessimist. These 2 facts do not always mix cohesively. Read my articles to see why. 

  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Snapchat Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
Never Miss a Post!
bottom of page